FAQ

Was ist ein FatBike?

Ein Fahrrad mit extrem breiten reifen, die es ermöglichen mit sehr niedrigem Luftdruck zu fahren. Dadurch erhöht sich die Auflagefläche der Reifen und man kann über weichem Untergrund wie Schnee und Sand fahren, was mit normalen Mountainbikes nicht möglich ist.

Welche FatBikes habt ihr?

Zurzeit haven wir 6  Surly Moonlanders, also die fettesten der fetten 🙂 Der name sagt schon alles, gemacht um am Mond und auf Spitsbergen zu fahren. Wir haben das 2014 model mit 100mm breiten felgen und 4.8 zoll breiten reifen. Also ungefähr 12cm, oder die länge des giant south american grasshopper. Zusätzlich haben wir ein Aluminium Fatback von 2012 für besondere Anlässe.

Alle Räder sind mit einem wasserdichten Tasche ausgestattet in der man sein persönliches zeug transportieren kann.

Moonlander
Surly Moonlander

Fatbiking und die Umwelt?

Da es keine motor gibt, ist es ein wirklich umweltfreundliche weg Spitzbergens spektakuläre Natur zu erleben. Das einzige Geräusch das man hört, kommt von den Reifen die überm Schnee rollen. Deswegen kannst Du die Aussicht genießen und mit beachtlicher Geschwindigkeit dahinrollen.

Wir folgen der „leave no trace“ Philosophie – also keine spuren hinterlassen. Wir fahren nur auf Schnee oder gefrorenem Untergrund. Im Sommer fahren wir am Strand unterhalb der marke die das Wasser in der Flut erreicht.

Wer kann ein FatBike fahren?

Wenn Du ein normales Rad fahren kannst, dann kannst du auch ein FatBike fahren. Ganz einfach. Der Guide wird die Geschwindigkeit auch an die Gäste anpassen.

FAQ

Can I rent a bike?

No, unfortunately not.

If you want to leave the safe zone around town on your own, you must bring a flare gun or similar and a sufficient firearm. If you only need a bike for biking in town you can get one for FREE. The tourist information lends these free bikes out www.visitsvalbard.com, here is a Facebook article about it.

If you still think you would like to rent a FatBike, for example to go to the north pole, contact us.

What is a FatBike?

A bicycle with extra wide tires. It is possible to ride with very low tire pressure to get a super large footprint. Therefore you can ride on soft surfaces such as snow, gravel or sand which would otherwise be un-rideable.

Which Fatbikes to you have?

Currently we have 5 Surly Moonlanders and two children bikes, which are the fattest of the fat. The name already says everything. Made to ride on the moon and on Svalbard. They are the 2014 model with 100m wide rims and use 4.8 inch wide tires. So about 12cm wide or about the length of the giant south american grasshopper.

All bikes are equipped with a bike bag where you can transport your personal stuff.

Moonlander
Surly Moonlander

Fatbiking and the environment?

Since you are the engine, it is a really ecofriendly way of experiencing Svalbards spectacular nature. The only sound you hear is the tires rolling on the ground. So you can fully enjoy the view while still moving along in a significant speed.

We follow the leave no trace philosophy. We only ride on snow, frozen ground or below the high tide waterline.

Who can ride a FatBike?

If you can ride a normal bike than you can ride a FatBike, simple as that. The Guide is also adapting the speed according to the guests.